Selling places on workshops and classes comes down to four questions: what the fee does to a low-priced ticket, whether a weekly class can live on one page, what happens when a small class fills up, and whether students can book on your own website. These are the platforms teachers, studios and workshop hosts shortlist, with each one's published fee and what it is good at.
Fees and features from each platform's own pricing pages, checked September 2026. We make Hi.Events, so it is listed first and labelled. Every figure for the others is sourced on its comparison page.
A weekly class as one page with up to 1,200 sessions, a capacity and a waitlist for each date, add-ons for materials, an embeddable checkout, and card payments in your own Stripe account as places sell.
Worth knowing: No memberships, class passes, credits or subscriptions, no consumer marketplace where people browse for classes, and no SMS reminders.
Good-looking event pages with a free plan at 5% on paid tickets, waitlists, and guest messaging by email, SMS and WhatsApp. It has no recurring events, so each date is a cloned event.
Worth knowing: Fees cannot be passed to the buyer.
A large consumer marketplace that organizers use for classes, with recurring events, waitlists and a free organizer check-in app.
Worth knowing: Payouts arrive after the event by default.
A not-for-profit platform with recurring events, waitlists and custom questions on every plan, and lower rates for charities and schools.
Worth knowing: Payouts arrive after the event on the default gateway.
Low Australian and New Zealand fees with card processing included, plus session times, waitlists and gift certificates.
Worth knowing: Australia, New Zealand and the UK only.
A UK box office platform with waitlists, and no fees on free events or on in-person bookings recorded in the dashboard.
Worth knowing: Payouts arrive after the event unless you connect Stripe.
Published standard fees, cheapest first on a $30 ticket once card processing is counted.
| Platform | Published fee | Card processing | All-in on $30 | When you're paid |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TryBooking | 5% + $0.19* | Included in the fee | $1.69 | On request from your TryBooking balance; requests before the event can be held for checks of up to seven days |
| TicketSource | 3.5% + $0.99 | Included in the fee | $2.04 | After the event, sent the following Monday; as tickets sell with your own Stripe account |
| Hi.Events | 1.25% + $0.60 | Charged on top | $2.15 | As tickets sell, on your own Stripe payout schedule |
| Luma | 5% | Charged on top | $2.67 | As tickets sell, on your own Stripe payout schedule |
| Humanitix | 2.1% + $0.99 | Charged on top | $2.79 | After the event, within about five business days; earlier by request or with your own Stripe account |
| Eventbrite | 3.7% + $1.79 | Charged on top | $3.77 | After the event by default, sent three business days after it ends |
Standard published rates, excluding negotiated, nonprofit and subscription pricing. Where card processing is charged on top, the all-in figure adds the platform's own stated rate or a standard 2.9% + $0.30. * No published rate in this currency. Converted from the platform's published rate at approximate exchange rates (1 USD ≈ €0.92, £0.78 and A$1.55); the vendor may price differently, or not sell, in this currency.
The features that tend to decide it for this kind of event, platform by platform.
| Platform | Pass fees on to buyers | Embed checkout on your site | Recurring events and time slots | Promo codes | Waitlist | Custom checkout questions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hi.Events | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Luma | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Eventbrite | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Humanitix | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| TryBooking | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| TicketSource | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
Shortlists for other kinds of event
Create the event and share the link. No credit card, no sales call, and nothing to move until you're ready.
Free events cost nothing. Paid tickets are 1.25% + $0.60, with no monthly fee and no contract — see the full pricing.