DICE vs Resident Advisor

Resident Advisor (10%, last known rate) is cheaper than DICE (13%) at every ticket price we checked. On a $30 ticket, with card processing included, DICE costs $3.90 and Resident Advisor costs $3.00.

Fees and features from each platform's public pricing pages, checked September 2026.

DICE and Resident Advisor at a glance

DICE

DICE is a mobile-first ticketing and discovery app used mainly by music venues, promoters, festivals and club nights. Tickets live in the DICE app with a QR code that activates on the day, and fans see one all-in price. Organizers either sign up on standard terms or negotiate a partnership deal.

Fee per paid ticket
13%includes card processing
When you're paid
After the event, within five business days
Best for
Music venues and promoters who want app-based tickets and in-app discovery
Based in
London, UK, founded 2014

Resident Advisor

Resident Advisor (RA) is an electronic music magazine, listings site and ticketing platform. Promoters list events and sell RA Tickets through RA Pro, reaching RA's audience through its listings and the RA Guide app. Fees are paid by the ticket buyer.

Fee per paid ticket
10%, last known rateincludes card processing
When you're paid
After the event, on the following Tuesday
Best for
Electronic music promoters, clubs and festivals who want RA's listings audience
Based in
London, UK, founded 2001

Hi.Events

Also worth a look

Hi.Events is an open-source ticketing platform with a hosted cloud version. Organizers sell from their own branded event pages or an embedded widget, and card payments settle straight into their own Stripe account as tickets sell.

Fee per paid ticket
1.25% + $0.60plus card processing
When you're paid
As tickets sell, on your own Stripe payout schedule
Best for
Organizers who want low published fees, their own branding and their money as tickets sell
Based in
Ireland
Start selling for free
§ 01 · Fees

What DICE and Resident Advisor cost

The all-in cost of selling 250 tickets at $30 each: platform fee plus card processing. Move the sliders to match your event.

Ticket price$30
Tickets sold250
DICE · 13%$975

Card processing is included in the fee.

Resident Advisor · 10%, last known rate$750

Card processing is included in the fee.

Hi.Events · 1.25% + $0.60$536

$244 platform fee + about $292 card processing.

Illustrative, from each platform's published standard rate. Where a platform charges card processing on top, we add its own stated rate or a standard 2.9% + $0.30 per ticket, so every total is like for like. Your actual card rate depends on your processor and the cards your buyers use.

§ 02 · Features

DICE vs Resident Advisor, feature by feature

Where the two differ, and where they don't.

FeatureDICEResident AdvisorHi.Events
Platform fee per paid ticket13%10%, last known rate1.25% + $0.60
Card processingIncluded in the feeIncluded in the feeCharged on top
Free eventsFreeFree tickets can be created; RA does not say whether a fee appliesFree
When you're paidAfter the event, within five business daysAfter the event, on the following TuesdayAs tickets sell, on your own Stripe payout schedule
Payment processorDICE collects the money and pays you outRA collects the money and pays you outYour own Stripe account
Pass fees on to buyersAlways; fees are built into one all-in priceAlways; the buyer pays the fee Yes
Your branding at checkoutNoNot stated Yes
Embed checkout on your siteEvent list widgetListings widget Yes
Listed in a consumer marketplace Yes YesNo
Tickets work without an app or accountNo, tickets live in the DICE appBuyers need an RA account Yes
QR check-in app Yes YesYes, in any phone browser
Reserved seatingNot statedNot statedNo
Recurring events and time slotsNot statedNot stated Yes
Promo codes Yes Yes Yes
Waitlist Yes Yes Yes
Custom checkout questionsNot statedNot stated Yes
API and webhooksRead-only API for partnersNot statedWebhooks
Official ticket resaleYes, through the official Wait ListYes, RA Resale on sold-out eventsNo
Open sourceNoNo Yes
Can be self-hostedNoNo Yes
§ 03 · Trade-offs

Strengths and limitations

DICE

Strengths

  • Discovery app that DICE says prompts a large share of its sales
  • App-held tickets and an official Wait List keep tickets off resale sites
  • Fans see one all-in price with no fees added at checkout
  • No fees on free tickets

Limitations

  • Payouts arrive after the event
  • Fans need the DICE app and an account to hold a ticket
  • Fees sit on top of your price and cannot be absorbed or shown separately
  • Partnership rates are negotiated, so what you pay may differ from the published defaults

These are the default self sign-up rates. Venues and promoters on a partnership agreement negotiate their own. Fees are added on top of your price and shown to fans as a single all-in figure.

Resident Advisor

Strengths

  • The largest electronic music listings audience
  • Nothing to pay as a promoter; the buyer covers the fee
  • Official resale for sold-out events
  • Free promotion tools, rep links and a door-scanning app

Limitations

  • The fee rate is no longer published
  • Payouts arrive after the event, with advances only for exclusive partners
  • Buyers need an RA account, and tickets unlock 24 hours before the event
  • Built around electronic music rather than general events

RA no longer publishes its fee, so 10% is its last known rate. Its help centre gives one example, where the buyer pays £8.50 and the promoter receives £7.50. The fee is paid by the buyer and is included in the displayed price by default.

§ 04 · Verdict

Which should you choose?

Choose Hi.Events if

you want a low published fee, your own branding at checkout and card payments in your own Stripe account as tickets sell.

Start selling for free →
§ 05 · FAQ

DICE vs Resident Advisor: common questions

Is DICE cheaper than Resident Advisor?
Resident Advisor (10%, last known rate) is cheaper than DICE (13%) at every ticket price we checked. On a $30 ticket, with card processing included, DICE costs $3.90 and Resident Advisor costs $3.00. Both fees include card processing.
Which pays out faster, DICE or Resident Advisor?
DICE: after the event, within five business days. Resident Advisor: after the event, on the following Tuesday. In practice the two are similar.
Do DICE and Resident Advisor promote events in a marketplace?
Yes, both do. DICE and Resident Advisor each list events in their own consumer marketplace, which can bring you buyers you would not otherwise reach. The trade-off is that your event sits next to other organizers' events.
Are free events free on DICE and Resident Advisor?
DICE: free. Resident Advisor: free tickets can be created; RA does not say whether a fee applies.
Is there a cheaper alternative to DICE and Resident Advisor?
Hi.Events charges 1.25% + $0.60 per paid ticket, the same for every organizer, with no monthly fee. On a $30 ticket that is $2.15 including Stripe's card processing. Card payments settle into your own Stripe account as tickets sell, and free events are free. It has no consumer marketplace, so it suits organizers who bring their own audience.See pricing →

Sources and corrections

Every figure on this page comes from the platform's own pricing and help pages, checked September 2026. Platforms change their pricing, so confirm with the vendor before you decide. If something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it. Product names are trademarks of their owners; Hi.Events is not affiliated with DICE or Resident Advisor.

Or skip both

Hi.Events gives you a low published fee, your own branding and your money as tickets sell. Create an event and see how it compares with DICE and Resident Advisor for yourself.

Free events cost nothing. Paid tickets are 1.25% + $0.60, with no monthly fee and no contract — see the full pricing.